bagua vs wing chun

taitsechien

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
i started learning bagua last night... and i remember sparring with a wing chun friend of mine... and he kept backing me up... bagua seems like a perfect defense against wing chun... others thoughts on this... also is there a bagua forum some where..?

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
No art is a perfect, or magical, solution to any other art or particular problem. Every art probably has some good methods and ideas which can lead to a good solution for any situation. It's up to you, the practitioner, to develop your skill accordingly, so you can utilize these methods and respond spontaneously and effectively against whatever an opponent throws at you.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
i started learning bagua last night... and i remember sparring with a wing chun friend of mine... and he kept backing me up... bagua seems like a perfect defense against wing chun... others thoughts on this... also is there a bagua forum some where..?

How long have you been training bagua and how long has your friend been training Wing Chun?

Bagua from my limited experience tends to not fight in a straight line it tends to very good at going around. Not that it can't go straight it can. But don't back up, avoid by moving at an angle to the attack. If you were Xingyi against Wing Chun you would tend to go straight at him using defense as attack. But this does not mean that a good Wing Chun person can't pound the living daylights out of you in the process, beleive me they can.

No art is a perfect, or magical, solution to any other art or particular problem. Every art probably has some good methods and ideas which can lead to a good solution for any situation. It's up to you, the practitioner, to develop your skill accordingly, so you can utilize these methods and respond spontaneously and effectively against whatever an opponent throws at you.

Agreed

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts