Bagua Knee Problems\Injuries

ilhe4e12345

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone, its been awhile since i posted. I have been recovering from a minor surgery on my right knee about 7 months ago. Since then I havent been able to practice much of any martial arts :/....during my down time and recovery I have been thinking really hard about it and out of everything I have studied I feel as if the internal styles of martial arts are what im wanting to continue with hear on out. Not that I dont love or enjoy the many years of mantis, but I just feel as if I am happier when I practice Bagua or HHsing-I. I have some experience in both, The 5 elements of Hsing-I as well as the first form and my the 8 palms and 2 changes of Bagua (I had to take a break due to my leg issue :( So I havent learned much more then that).

Anyways not that I needed to post all that but my question is the following....has anyone out there with knee issues or an knee injury had issues practicing Bagua? I noticed while doing my circle walking and my second change (which involes a 180 degree turn) is when it hurts the most. I know its because of the recent surgery and the doctors said that it will be sore for awhile until its back to normal, but I wanted to know if anyone out there practices with an old injury and how you go about doing it? Any tips? I really want to practice...lol

Blaze Dragon

Blue Belt
Reaction score