Are there any good escrima stick drill videos?

psilent child

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm looking for some good escrima stick videos. I have YouTube some videos. I'm just wondering what do you guys recommend.

Charlemagne

Black Belt
Reaction score
There are quite a few depending on your system of study. Check out GoldStar video and see if there isn't something of interest: Goldstar Video - Rent the Best Martial Arts training DVDs online | MMA | Kung Fu | JKD | Pistol | Knife | Karate

The problem is that most of the videos are just that, drills. They don't teach the combative application of those drills and serve only to build one's ability to do those movements. Building attributes is important, but that implies that there is some ability to transfer those skills to something more applied. Unfortunately, that is often not the case. Until I started studying PTK with the organization I am with now, I never once saw the application of things like sinawali, even though I had done countless sinawali drills in the different FMA styles I had studied.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
If you look on that Goldstar video site that Charlemagne mentioned I really like Tim Waid's Pekiti videos and the Dog Brother videos, both are very applied.

Juany118

Senior Master
Reaction score
I may be off but when I think drill, I don't think, combatives, but I think a good video about the key points (timing, range etc) is this... Yeah the commentator is a fanboi but it gets concepts across well imo, for YouTube

Last edited:
OP
P

psilent child

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I looked at Doug Marcaida videos. I can't see paying $90 then paying for each video.

Juany118

Senior Master
Reaction score
You can find a lot of free ones on Youtube.