An interesting story of the YM Mook Jong

Juany118

Senior Master
Reaction score
A preface.
1. I found this using the simple search that included "fighting" not wooden dummy. I clicked on it though because it seemed odd to be included in such a search.
2. Of course people will debate what he says but his description, if you remove the "halo" that surrounds names, simply felt right to me. Heck for me including the YM name it felt right because once I learned YM had served as a Police Officer I dived into studying his history the same way I did with Teddy Roosevelt when I discovered he was a Commissioner of New York City Police Department as a "would be" cop in the 90's.
3. In listening to this it also made sense due to what I have been taught. WC is a conceptual martial art. By definition that means WC is malleable, within certain limits of course as you can only stretch the envelope so far before you tear it.

KPM

Senior Master
Reaction score
Revisionist history. Ip Man did not bring the wooden dummy to Hong Kong, and he did not invent the wall mounting system. The Weng Chun guys brought the wooden dummy to Hong Kong. Probably either Chu Chong Man or Tang Yik. The first dummy was at the Dai Duk Lan, which was a market place. I've never heard any claim that they were the ones that actually invented the wall mount system, but Ip Man certainly first saw it at the Dai Duk Lan and copied it. That dummy was still there until relatively recenty.

Others say that Ip Man learned at least parts of his dummy from Yuen Kay Shan. So the portion about Ip Man having to later "reassemble" and essentially create his own form is very likely true. In the Pin Sun system the dummy is played "free form" based on the San Sik, so the part about Ip Man training that way makes perfect sense. This was probably somewhat standard practice. A "form" for the dummy was likely not standardized amongst the various Wing Chun families until pretty recently in history.

KPM

Senior Master