An Experience With Mastery

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
So my wife and I are taking ballroom classes. Well, really, I am taking ballroom classes. My wife, who is an accomplished dancer, is coming with me to hold my hand so I don't get scared.

This weekend, we went to a dance gig out at a local grange hall. We were the youngest people in there by 15 years...and that couple was a good 25 years younger than the next youngest people.

I've been practicing martial arts for 25 years now, and I've trained with and under some of the best.

But I'll tell you right now, dancing with a woman who's been doing the foxtrot for 75 years...that's mastery at a level I've rarely seen. Unconscious success, humility and kindness, everything right there in a smiling package that smelt faintly of talcum powder.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
So my wife and I are taking ballroom classes. Well, really, I am taking ballroom classes. My wife, who is an accomplished dancer, is coming with me to hold my hand so I don't get scared.

Funny you mention this. I am a photographer by hobby, and I went to the 9th Annual University of Michigan Ballroom Dance Competition in Ann Arbor on Saturday. Those people are athletes - there are no two ways about it.

It was my second visit to this competition. As I watched them perform their dances...well...I saw similarities to martial arts. The movements, the discipline.

Well, anyway. Here are my photos from Saturday night. Hope you enjoy them.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/wigwam/sets/72157613838182964/

elder999

El Oso de Dios!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Mas Oyama: