American TaeKwonDo Association...

S

ShaolinWolf

Who here takes Songahm TaeKwonDo? And under which organization? STF, WTTU, or ATA? (yeah, I know they are basically one and the same, just asking what's on the back of your uniform...)

OP
T

ThuNder_FoOt

I went throught the ranks and got a 2nd Dan, so I could see the difference between ATA and my original WTF training. I moved up relatively fast because I already held Dan rank in WTF, and this made it easy to perform all the required techniques. Along with that, most of the ATA Masters I studied under, were ex-WTF Instructors anyways, so I was able to adapt easily to the Songahm style. One good thing about ATA I must say, the Songahm forms are more challenging than the Pyong-An and Taegeuk (let us not forget the Palgue) forms IMHO. Since those days my membership has long expired, because I'm not a continual participating member.

Shu2jack

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I am a current student and a club owner of the ATA. 11 years with the organization and I hold the rank of 2nd degree. No, I didn't take any time off. Yes, I know that is a long time in the organization to only be a 2nd degree.

OP
S

ShaolinWolf

Yeah, well, there happen to be some instances that testings take a longer time to get there between belts or other things the prevent us from moving up quickly. I know 2nd degrees that got there in 6-7 years and I know some who got there in 8-11 years. No biggie. The one's that took 8-11 years were way better than the ones that took 6-7. I think ATA moves people up in Ranks pretty quick, and sometimes, for some people, it's too quick.

Shu2jack

Purple Belt
Reaction score