American Goju

Brian S

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Anyone here heard of it, practice it, or teach it?

I have been a student of American Goju for 17yrs. The way I learned was great! Lots of good stuff in there. Sparring, kata, two man drills, lots of line work and just hard training.

Oue lineage runs from Yamaguchi to Peter Urban and on down to us from people who no one will recognize. :)

Seems like with this many members someone will have undoubtedly know something.

Thanks in advance! :supcool:

stone_dragone

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
My system, Nahate Goju, is from the Yamaguchi - Urban lineage, or so I'm told. It's a longer story than that, but short version is my research shows that although I trained in a tough school under a great instructor, I'm not convinced that his instructor was completely honest with his history.

What forms do you use and what is your lineage?

OP
Brian S

Brian S

Purple Belt
Reaction score
My lineage is as follows: Yamaguchi- Urban- Lou Angel- Dino Cadelli,Dale Simmons, David Syfert and Jasper Smith- Who taught myself and several others.

The kata we do are the Taikyoku series-Sanchin-Seiunchin-Sanseru-Tensho. Some do more kata,but I do not at this time.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have been around American Goju for my whole 40+ years in the martial arts. Not sure what is comeing out of the schools these days but years ago they put out some of the strongest, hardest fighters around. Their talent, dedication and hard practices where obvious to any who ever stood across from them
Some of the offshoot systems that developed from American goju also have been very good with talented people instructing,

chinto

Senior Master
Reaction score
Anyone here heard of it, practice it, or teach it?