Alan Lee's temple in NYC?

jim777

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I've tried the search function and haven't found any instances of anyone going to the school or being a member of the temple. Is anyone familiar with the school as it is currently? I went for a short period in 1980, but at the time beginners like myself were simply taught running in place and standing in horse stance for the first few months. It didn't really bring out my inner Kwai Chang Cane, as it were :)
All these years later I am still a beginner, and I was just wondering if the MAs here thought it was a good school, or if I'd be better off looking at someplace else in NYC.

Thanks in advance,

jim

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm not sure where you're at in NJ, but there's some good KF there if it's what you're after.

Check out http://www.yeeshungga.com/ . They have multiple locations in NJ.

Also check out Bonaficio Lim at 79-05 Tamarron Drive Plainsboro, NJ 08536 (609) 716-9620 for something a little different.

If it doesn't tweak your interest, you may want to go into NYC.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Not having any experience with the school I cannot say if it is good or bad but it sounds like it was at least traditional, which does not play well to most Americans.

Traditionally in China you do a whole lot of stance training and exercise before you start any forms and/or applications.

My Sanda Sifu is big on the basics... and when I say big I mean vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big on basics. After that the real training (and pain) begins. :EG:

OP
jim777

jim777

Master Black Belt
Reaction score