Aikido progression

F

Field Cricket

I've just had my second Aikido lesson, and I can say I'm impressed. :) However it strikes me as an art that will take a very long time to get any good at.

I was talking with the sensei, and he said he made shodan after 10 years of training. Another person in class has been training 3 times a week for 18 months and is reckoned to be ready to go from ungraded to 6th kyu.

Are these times typical? (This is an Aikikai club, BTW).

FC

Aikikitty

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Welcome to the wonderful world of Aikido!!! :D

I've been doing Aikido for nearly 2 years and I still feel like I don't know ANYTHING!!! I usually make it to class twice a week but I don't really practice at home. I'm 5th kyu.

Everyone I know says that Aikido takes a long time to learn. I definitely agree with them. My sensei has been doing Aikido for about 9 (maybe 10) years and I think he has had his black belt for at least 3 years (maybe more). My sensei says that when you get your black belt it just means that you are finally good enough to really start learning the art. I think that's a good way of looking at it. Black belt means it's the beginning of learning instead of the end of the goal. ;)

Have fun with your training! :wavey:

Robyn :asian:

OP
D

Despairbear

Aikido can take quite a bit of training to reach a level of true ability. In my dojo a black belt teaching rank can be reached in about 6-10 years and by that time you are expected to be able to defend your self with aikido. Aikido is a very technicly percise art with little margin for error. It is also one of the hardest art I have ever studied but the pay off is well worth it.

Despair Bear

Mao

Black Belt
Reaction score