A thought...In response to other threads

KempoGuy06

Grandmaster
Reaction score
The thread started by terry about how to fall on hard surfaces, in the grappling/BJJ/wrestling section here is a link terry's thread, got me thinking. Then I went back to the thread about the legal issues that popped up a couple months ago.

What would happen if someone was to get hurt if you took them down by a throw or flip? Punching or kicking someone is different than a throw or flip, you can use a throw to control the situation, but what if they take a bad fall and break something or worse? We as MA'ist know that amout of force that is needed to control or cause pain, but what is a force outside our control alters the affects of the control we use, can blame be put on us?

B

MarkBarlow

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer but I'd bet money that it doesn't matter if the injury was caused by a strike, kick or throw, we'd still need to be able to prove that we were defending ourselves. If the injury was caused maliciously and without cause, how he got hurt is less important than the fact that we inflicted the harm.

OP
KempoGuy06

KempoGuy06

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer but I'd bet money that it doesn't matter if the injury was caused by a strike, kick or throw, we'd still need to be able to prove that we were defending ourselves. If the injury was caused maliciously and without cause, how he got hurt is less important than the fact that we inflicted the harm.
Thats true, very true, but what if we could prove that what we did would not cause that injury. Would it matter? Would that fact that we were still involved label us as guilty?

Thoughts?

B

MarkBarlow

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Thats true, very true, but what if we could prove that what we did would not cause that injury. Would it matter? Would that fact that we were still involved label us as guilty?

Thoughts?

B