A different question about shin conditioning

Jagermeister

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Just so nobody blasts me, I searched and read all the threads relating to shin conditioning before posting here, and I still have a couple questions, regarding short-term shin conditioning, which I believe have not yet been addressed.

After all I've read, it seems pretty clear that shin conditioning, especially when done incorrectly and over long periods of time, can be pretty dangerous to your long-term health. However, if you're gonna do Muay Thai, there is a certain amount of abuse that your shins will take regardless. I'm new to MT, so I'm wondering if just a month or 2 of shin conditioning (light rolling, not hitting, with a padded bar or rod) would have long-term effects.

My second question is, if I do this every other day for a month or two, would this be enough time to become slightly desensitized?

I'm definitely not going to continue shin conditioning once I feel that the pain isn't as intense, but I'd like to just get a general idea of how long I can expect to work at it before I get the results I want, and what the lasting effects (20 years from now) may be, if any. By the way, I'm planning on working on pads and bags as well, so the conditioning wouldn't come entirely from the "rolling."

Thanks, everyone.

green meanie

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I think you'll see some results after a month or two but you'll probably have to work at this for six months to a year to get the kind of results you're really looking for. Deep bone bruising is serious business so you have to be careful not to get carried away and over do it when you're doing this type of conditioning. But if you're careful and patient you shouldn't have any problems in the short or long run.

Henderson

Master Black Belt
Reaction score