A complete newbie to the Bujinkan

Humble Student

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone
I am soon to be joining training real soon. And I was wondering is there any dues and don'ts as far as a student.
Is there any books I should read and or stay away from.
I am guess I should be reading things from Soke. And stay away from Mr. A. Kim.

And to all thanks for the heads up.

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Well, honestly, read books for your own interest, but don't confuse that with training to develop any skill. The short answer is to train in what your instructor gives you to train in, allow yourself to accept that things will be different from your past training, to the point where you get told things that directly contradict your previous training, and that is fine. Don't question the training (at least when you are getting used to the system), meaning try to avoid the old "what if?" style questioning. You can ask "why do we do that?", and depending on your instructor, they may have the answer for you (hopefully they will), or they may expect you to discover that for yourself (I once mentioned to my Chief Instructor about a particular aspect of one of the Ryu, hoping for some insight about it.... his response was "Yes.... why do you think that is?" I may mention that I was Dan-graded at the time, and his response would be different for a Kyu-grade asking a question... but at my rank at the time, if I was interested in the various aspects of the Ryu, I was expected to discover things myself, and then check back with him).

Oh, and "dues" are your fees, so, uh, a big "do" is to make sure you pay your "dues" on time!

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
There is a saying that is sometimes use in our art: Shut up and train.