Your Karate & are you satisfied.

G

gojukylie

Interested in comments and thoughts on whether the style of Katate you study is fulfilling, whether it compliments you and any other thoughts regarding this topic. Ta.:D

OP
K

KenpoMatt

I train in American Kenpo. It is my second style, TKD was the first. I find kenpo to be VERY satisfying. I really believe in what I have learned and continue to learn. I think it is an appropriate style for me, especially compared to TKD. I've got some rotten knees from being a runner. And, I don't have particularly long legs. I also believe I'm much much faster with my hands than with my feet.

Kenpo suits me. I'm a software developer. By nature I'm an analytical person. Kenpo's vocabulary, theories and scientific principles speak to me.

I'm very glad I found the school where I train.

Ender

Black Belt
Reaction score
yes, very much so..I started out in Shotokhan...then went to Kenpo....Studied some JKD and Arnis. And I like the way the last three are similar yet distinctively different.

OP
G

gojukylie

I have been studying Goju Karate for approx 5 years and loved it the day I started. As soon as I walked into the Dojo I knew that this was for me. The more I went the more I discovered. I thought originally that Karate was about kicking and punching and these patterns where you move around striking, kicking and making loud noises.

Goju Karate is a really well balanced style that had everything in it that I was searching for. Kihon (Basics), Kata, Bunkai ( pre-arranged applications, both traditional and personal), Sparring, Grappling, weapons training and so much more.

For a while I studied other forms such as Kung Fu (w/c), Ninjutsu and Kendo. I enjoyed all of these but it didn’t impact on me as much as Goju. I even found that I could use what I learned from these other styles and experiment within the Goju style. Good fun.