your favorite move??

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
Doing kyorugi my favorite move or combo is dolyo chagui followed by ti-chagui or momdolyo chagui, don't know if I was so influenced by Chuck Norris movies back in my youth but I always send one or two direct kicks (round ones) and then a spining back kick or spining hook kick, I also like to use the reverse punch (bande motong chirugi).

Manny

sopraisso

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hi, Manny.
I have little experience using techniques in kyorugi, but I love dwit chagi (I believe it's called back kick or spinning back kick in English, and it's probably the same ti-chagui you talked about). I love the direct motion (of extending the leg) that makes it a fast and powerful kick, and the turn that adds power to the move. It seems to me just so impressive that we can intercept an advancing body with a direct and powerful counterattack. I myself have used it sometimes successfully against round kicks. Off course there's the problem of turning your back to the opponent, but anyway no technique is useful alone.

I also like the jumping spinning back kick, wich is visually beautiful and seems to have a faster turn, because of the jump (anyone correct me if I'm wrong).

I'd like to add to this topic: anyone who wants to talk about their favorite moves could talk a little about such moves, so we could go deeper into understanding them, or the way each person understands them.

Ironcrane

Blue Belt
Reaction score
A low side kick to the knee as it will stop just about anything thrown at you. Though I do have some trouble getting the timing right with that one. A spin back kick used as a counter can do the same, and is a little bit easier for me. I also like the shadowless kick since it's not very common most people don't defend very well against it.