Yang Zhenduo & Yang Jun

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
In an attempt to gain a better and more positive outlook on the state of Yang style Tai Chi than I have now I have a question about Yang Style Tai Chi as taught by Yang Zhenduo or Yang Jun.

I studied Yang style for 12 years and for 9 years it was very good. The last 3 years with my Sifu were not so good, because he changed from teaching real Tai Chi to Tai Chi light to gain students.

And before I ask my question I need to say I truly mean no disrespect to Yang Zhenduo or Yang Jun. :asian:

Does anyone train with or know about Yang Zhenduo and/or Yang Jun and do they teach the real deal with fajing, push hands, internal, applications, etc., is the martial arts still intact?

East Winds

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Xue Sheng,

The simple answer is yes to all your questions. As I haver said many times before on this board, Traditional Yang Shi Taijiquan has Fa Jing in every posture, it is just not as overt as in Chen style. Yang Zhen Duo is the 3rd son of Yang Cheng-fu and some say he learned more from Fu Zhong Wen (Cheng-fu's most senior disciple)than he did from his father. Have a look at this very old clip of Fu Zhong Wen performing and you will see the form a la Yang Cheng-fu/Yang Zhen Duo.
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2684733084214920600&q=Tai+Chi
Yang Jun is of course Yang Zhen Duo's grandson and he learned from his grandfather. My own lineage comes from Yang Zhen Ji (2nd son of Yang Cheng-fu) and our form is the same as demonstrated by Fu Zhong Wen. I have worked with a Tung/Dong lineaged teacher and the form as I think you will agree is slightly different from Fu Zhong Wen's. However I would be interested in hearing your opinion of a comparison.

Very best wishes

Alistair Sutherland

OP
Xue Sheng

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
East Winds said:
Xue Sheng,