Would you explain me?

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
Would you explain me the diferences beetwen Japanese Karate and Okinawan Karate? Where was thre birth place of karate?

Manny

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Would you explain me the diferences beetwen Japanese Karate and Okinawan Karate? Where was thre birth place of karate?

Manny

I am not an expert, but as I understand it, karate began on Okinawa, as an amalgamation between native Okinawan self-defense techniques and those adopted by Okinawans from various Chinese self-defense techniques. The term itself, 'karate' was originally translated as 'China Hand' and was later changed to mean 'Empty Hand'.

Gichin Funikoshi, the originator of Shotokan, brought karate to the Japanese mainland and made some changes to the karate he had learned on Okinawa in order to make it more acceptable to the Japanese.

Since that time, there have been crossovers in style - Japanese karate techniques moving into Okinawan styles and vice-versa.

But karate itself, as karate, comes from Okinawa.

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Yep, agreed with Bill there. From memory, the name change was in the early 1900's (the 20's or 30's, I think....).

In terms of the actual differences between them, well, there are always differences between systems, but in very broad strokes, Okinawan systems tend more towards classic straight-line actions, strong stances, straight kicks, a larger focus on kobudo (old-style weaponry... and for the record, I'm talking about things such as Tekko, Tinbe, Nunti etc, as well as the more well-known Nunchaku, Tonfa, Sai etc), sometimes as a completely different system, and a larger focus on traditional conditioning, such as Hojo Undo.