World Tang Soo Do

aerotd

White Belt
Reaction score
Does anyone practice World Tang Soo Do? Seems like all the posts are for other forms than what I am studying. Even the Korean names for the techniques are differnet so I wonder if they are even the same things we are talking about.

Miles

Senior Master
Reaction score
Is this GM Shin's organization? That seems like a very high number of black belts?

Miles

mjd

Green Belt
Reaction score
Yes, Master Jae C Shinn is the Grand Master.

Well I did round off, my buddy tested for cho dan in May and his dan number is 39116, by now there have been a few more so maybe I was a little high.

I should clarify the numbers are since the beginning of WTSDA org. I really don't know what the numbers are exactly today of active black belts members, but I do know it's allot.

Miles

Senior Master
Reaction score
Thanks for the clarification MJD. GM Shin has been around for a very long time and so I can see where he may have a huge number of black belts.

Is a different Dan number issued as one progresses in rank or do you keep the same number as you progress?

BTW, congratulations to your friend on his chodan promotion!

Miles

mjd

Green Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the congrats.

WTSDA dan numbers are for life, one for each person, that's it, the dan number is used to determine seniority after rank of course.

Mine is 28711, got it Oct 10, 1996, I am now an Edan, and I am planning to test for sum dan this fall if I pass my pre-test at out annual dan camp Aug 17, I think I do ok.

EmperorOfKentukki

Green Belt
Reaction score