Why?

JasonASmith

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello again all,
I am sure that this has been discussed countless times in the past few years on this board, but....Mehhh.
One of the things that has been on my mind since I have decided to get back to Martial Arts is this: Why? Why I am I doing this? Why do I love the Martial Arts?
Most people respond to this question by saying 1 of 3 stock answers(as I call them)
1. For the exercise
2. For the ability to defend oneself in an altercation
3. For the discipline
Lately, I have been thinking about it, and my reason is none of those things...
Actually, my reason is this: Because it just FEELS right...The first time that I studied the arts, I was 7...It was fun, and that was it(hey we were all kids)...During my adolescent years, it was for some other reasons. I wanted to be able to protect myself and my loved ones against as much danger(real of imagined) as possible.
Now, I am in my 30s, struggling to keep my weight and mind under control, I have two wonderful kids and a top-shelf wife(hey, I got lucky)...in short, I actually HAVE the basis for all 3 of the above stock answers, but when I ask myself why I am doing this...I get the answer that I gave above...
Does this make me weird? Or worse, does this make me a certain southern-directed portion of the human anatomy?

stickarts

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Its a good fit for me.
I love the hard physical training. I like helping others through teaching. I have met some incredible people through martial arts. The lessons I have learned have helped me in all other areas of my life.
I have gotten a lot of positive feedback and encouragement during this journey.
It just "felt" right once I started and i never stopped!

Elayna

Green Belt
Reaction score
Jason,