Why should I take Aikido Lessons

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm a firsth degree black betl in TKD, perhaps this december will do my second degree black belt test, I'm 41 and lattely I've been hurting my feet doing TKD.

There is an Aikido Dojo in my town, why I should practice Aikido?

Maybe I will take Aikido Classes next year.

Manny

Kumbajah

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Why do you practice TKD?

There are many reasons to practice a martial art. Some meet certain goals better than others. IMO you have to determine the goal of your training then determine the tool best for the job.

ejaazi

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I'm a firsth degree black betl in TKD, perhaps this december will do my second degree black belt test, I'm 41 and lattely I've been hurting my feet doing TKD.

Manny

I studied Kung Fu for 7 years and I was going to change styles. But one of my instructors suggested I take Aikido. When I asked him why, he said that it would make me a more well rounded Martial Artist and that it was practical for self defense. That is only one reason why you should take Aikido. You'll have to find the other reasons.

morph4me

Goin' with the flow
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My reason for training Aikido is mine, only you can come up with your reason, and you have to figure out what that is for yourself.

ArmorOfGod

Senior Master
Reaction score
I am NOT tkd bashing at all, in fact I like tkd, but typical tkd is 90% kicking and 10% punching with no locks, throws, or take-downs. Aikido would cover those things, which you may not have ever done.
Any kicker/puncher who has never learned lots of joint-locks is a very incomplete fighter and needs to cover those topics.

AoG

OP
Manny

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
I am NOT tkd bashing at all, in fact I like tkd, but typical tkd is 90% kicking and 10% punching with no locks, throws, or take-downs. Aikido would cover those things, which you may not have ever done.