Where did you learn your knife techniques?

Where did you learn your knife techniques

• Part of my regular cirriculum in MA

Votes: 50 76.9%
  • Seminar(s)

Votes: 24 36.9%
  • Self Taught

Votes: 18 27.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Were your knife techniques self taught/videos? Are they part of your regular MA cirriculum or did you attend seminar(s) and learn them from there? Was is a mixture of all of the above?

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
A mixture of experimenting with training partner and frommy instructor and a few seminars. I must say that training with a live blae taught me much about fear and what i was really willing to try as opposed to learning technique X aginst a training blade

KenpoTex

Senior Master
Reaction score
Defensive or Offensive?

In kenpo we have empty-hand techniques to defend against someone who's attacking with a knife. For offensive technique (with the exception of a couple of seminars); I'm basically self-taught. A lot of the material that I train now is the result of working the material presented in books such as Kill or Get Killed by Col. Rex Applegate; Cold Steel by John Styers, and Get Tough by W.E. Fairbairn. I've also got several training DVD's from Datu Kelly Worden (these are great and I appreciate them even more because I was able to attend one of his seminars) and one called Reverse Edge Methods which is available from Shiv Works (excellent for extreme close-quarters). Of course, the seminars and DVD's also cover some defense.

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Raining Lance
Glancing Lance
Piercing Lance
Thrusting Lance
Entwined Lance

Are all part of my schools curriculum for First Black.

Run away is my own, hopefully, common sense technique. :)

OP
Lisa

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
michaeledward said:
Raining Lance
Glancing Lance
Piercing Lance
Thrusting Lance
Entwined Lance