what's the damage of a kneebar?

The MMA kid!

Green Belt
Reaction score
been put in a kneebar and didnt want to tap too soon. thing is bruised a little but not i can walk and run without pain, just dont want to overwork a wound.

whats the damage?

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Ask a doctor.

Seriously, you could have bruised/strained/sprained/torn a ligament inside your knee and ligaments are nothing to mess around with. Get to a doctor and have the knee xrayed and maybe an MRI. Take it easy on the knee for a while - I'm no doctor, but I would stop all impact activity and all standed twisting and kicking until you see a doctor.

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Where are the bruises?

and Shesulsa is right, don't mess with your knees, they take a pounding every day just with us walking on them. They need to be taken care of, and no grappling/knee bars until that heals :)

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Knee and esp. ankle locks can go on deceptively quickly. You're probably fine if you can walk...but expect it to hurt for a while. For much more expert advice, consult a physician!

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
The MMA kid! said:
been put in a kneebar and didnt want to tap too soon. thing is bruised a little but not i can walk and run without pain, just dont want to overwork a wound.

whats the damage?

First off, this is a very common mistake and something that should be avoided: Don't be afraid to tap!!!! Sure there are times when I've grappled and have waited a bit to tap in an attempt to escape, but safety is first and foremost!! If you get hurt, thats potential time away from grappling. If your limb is in danger, TAP!!!