What's the craziest thing...

Dan Cosgrove

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've had some odd training experiences, from breaking my nose with my own kick to discovering I was the only person over the age of 9 in an "all ages" Wushu class (stupid kids and their natural flexibility and energy).

What's something crazy, funny, or just messed up that's happened to you?

***Edit***

NO naming specific people and schools if it's harmful in any way, please.

OP
Dan Cosgrove

Dan Cosgrove

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
It's only fair if I start this off.

A few years back, I discovered an Aikido club near me. I've always wanted to learn, and the price was crazy ($20 a month!).

I attended two classes. No complaints.

During the second class, a larger man wearing a frayed black belt enters the gym. Everyone kind of gets that hush that you usually only see in movies when the 'wrong person' enters a bar.

He proceeds to correct some technique, ask me how I'm doing (because I'm a new face) and then leaves to get something from his car.

Everyone begins talking in hushed tones. I ask what's up, since I want to know what's going on.

In my first class, I had been told the original instructor had taken a leave. I figured it was to do some intensive training, go on vacation, whatever.

But no.

Apparently, this guy had some mental issues (and not the fun kind of "oh, that Patch Adams is a character" mental difference, but Paranoid Schizophrenia) and was voluntold to check himself into a facility.

So now I'm in a class with a very large, possibly crazy, Aikido black belt.

He comes back. Everything's going fine, considering.

He asks everyone to gather round on the mat. We do.

The conversation then quickly spirals into crazy town. I don't remember it word-for-word, so here's the bullet points:

• I am shogun, and sometimes shogun has to step up and show that he's shogun