What martial arts should I study?

Ledz96

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone!
I'm 19 years old, and I've been doing taekwondo for the last three years: at the moment I'm a green belt, since I skipped the last two exams due to school/university (I got my high school diploma on July and took my first exams on Jan).
In the last six months, I've been "influenced" by the TV series Daredevil: even if I'm definitely not going to be a (blind) vigilante, I'd like to learn some of the interesting techniques performed; at the same time, it would also be great to refine my senses. I know it could sound childlish, but I think it's not: I'm not looking for superhuman senses, I'd just like to improve my perceptive skills as much as I can.

Here are some videos to show you some techniques I'd love to learn:

00:15, I think it's a joint breaking technique. I'm pretty sure it wouldn't work against a person willing to kill you in real life, but I took this example in order to show the kind of "self-defense thing" I'm interested on.

Some fighting styles

01:35, maybe. I don't know if this is realistc: probably not.

Even if I'm a bit busy right now, I feel like in two months I'll be ready to start another martial art (without dropping tkd, of course): considering all I've said, what do you think I could start with?

Thanks for your help!

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Arm breaks only work in real fights if you are skilled enough to watch for the opportunity. If you don't practice looking for technique openings, you will always be too late.

OP
L

Ledz96

White Belt
Reaction score
Arm breaks only work in real fights if you are skilled enough to watch for the opportunity. If you don't practice looking for technique openings, you will always be too late.

Of course, if I had thought the opposite, I would have just bought some dvds.