What is your motivation for doing Kendo?

MaartenSFS

Blue Belt
Reaction score
When I studied Kendo I went there only to beat people with sticks in a high-adrenaline battle to the "death". When I discovered that everyone there wanted to be Rurouni Kenshin I quit, read books about various blade/stick-related arts, and got together a group to practise doing what I intended to do in Kendo. If your dojo is better than the one I ended up in you're lucky. Enjoy! ;)

OP
achilles95

achilles95

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Interesting. I personally was disheartened when I discovered Kendo has been trimmed into a sport. I'm interested in battle, not in the preferences of a referee.

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Interesting. I personally was disheartened when I discovered Kendo has been trimmed into a sport. I'm interested in battle, not in the preferences of a referee.

I'm curious about this. With an art like Kendo, how can it be practiced any other way in today's society?

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I did it because wacking people over the head with a bamboo sword is a great way to spend a day :)

I enjoyed the sport aspect, wouldn't have wanted to do it if it wasn't sparring based. But did feel a little frustration at not being able to attack the legs.

OP
achilles95

achilles95

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm curious about this. With an art like Kendo, how can it be practiced any other way in today's society?

That's a good question. My answer is this - During my first lesson, I asked my Instructor, "So how to I parry a blow to the legs?" And he said, "It's against the rules to attack the legs." See what I mean? Still, I do enjoy kendo and will continue to practice.

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score