What dose your MA use for Black Belt Ranks.

UKS

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
What dose your Martial Arts school use for Black belt ranks?

Do you have stripes or different color belts for dan ranking or just plane Black?

Aiki Lee

Master of Arts
Reaction score
In Banzenkan aiki ninjutsu, shodan is a solid black belt with the person's name written on one side and kanji for the organization on the opposite end. Each additional dan rank has a white stripe at the end. At 3rd dan, a person is given a "warrior name" and that replaces their given name on their belt. 10th dan in our organization was a white belt as I recall.

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
In BJJ, black belts usually have a red band with white stripes to denote the degrees.

kitkatninja

Blue Belt
Reaction score
It depends on the organisation, a couple of Shotokan associations that I studied with just had the black belt (no stripes) and a couple had stripes. My current TSD association, just has the blue belt - no stripes. TBH, more often than not it was/is a solid colour (black/blue).

Noah_Legel

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Shodan through yondan wear solid black belts (sometimes with their name and our style/org embroidered on them, but not always), godan wear either solid black belts or half-white/half-red belts for Renshi (up to them whether they wear the plain belt or Renshi belt), rokudan up through hachidan wear either solid black belts or red/white panel belts (up to them which one), and kudan and judan wear either solid black or solid red belts (again, up to them which one).

SuperFLY

Green Belt
Reaction score
At TISKA (Karate) we have your name on one end, organisation on the other. the colour of the thread changes depending on dan grade.. silver, gold, red i think. not sure whats after that.

Gentle Fist

Master Black Belt
Reaction score