Website building for beginners

Bobby135

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am looking to build a website. I have never done it before and I would like to learn how. I am computer literate, as in Iknow how to work them and get around but as for programming I am lacking. I would like some help as to where I can get it hosted along with what tools can I use to do this.

Thanks for your help,
Bobby

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
how deep do you want to get into it?

You really don't need a lot for tools to get started, and if you want to go at this in any depth then you need to start learning html.

A good place to start is http://w3schools.com

Get a decen understanding of HTML, then start looking at CSS, then if you want to go farther Javascript (client side scripting), and php, asp or some other server side language. And then, SQL, as most sites nowadays use a database of some sort. The movement right now is towards websites as applications, not just static pages. But you got to start at the bottom (HTML/CSS) to get there :)

A text editor is all you need, preferably one with syntax highlighting such as this: http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

ArmorOfGod

Senior Master
Reaction score
An easier way to do this is just use something like tripod.com or googlepages.com to get our feet wet.

My website is done from googlepages and I think looks pretty good. With Tripod and Googlepages, you just pick a template and plug in your info.
Now, if you want to get all fancy, read that last post.

How advanced of a site do you want to have, by the way?

AoG

Monadnock

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
What AoG said.

A lot of online hosting companies have tools to help you edit your pages and upload images. Yahoo! and GoDaddy are a couple.

If you know how to use a word processing program, there are WYSIWYG editors like Dreamweaver that are pretty powerful. All you need is your hosting company's FTP info to upload it.

Bob Hubbard

Retired