Washing your gi....?

TapouT

White Belt
Reaction score
Whats the right way to wash your gi without ruining it?
Like cold/hot water?
Dry/not dry?
Can I wash it with other clothes?
Is it bad to blech it? (i have a white gi)

Haha Im sorry, these must be pretty obvious questions but Im new at this /:

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Whats the right way to wash your gi without ruining it?
Like cold/hot water?
Dry/not dry?
Can I wash it with other clothes?
Is it bad to blech it? (i have a white gi)

Haha Im sorry, these must be pretty obvious questions but Im new at this /:

Wash in hot water or however you wash your other white clothes. Dry in dryer or on line as you prefer. Use fabric softener if you wish. Bleach or other whitener as needed if it gets dingy or has stains.

That's about it. My main gi is cotton, so I washed it on hot and dried it on hot a couple times before I had it cut down to fit me, that way it had shrunk as much as it was going to.

I do not wash my obi.

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
Wash in hot water or however you wash your other white clothes. Dry in dryer or on line as you prefer. Use fabric softener if you wish. Bleach or other whitener as needed if it gets dingy or has stains.

That's about it. My main gi is cotton, so I washed it on hot and dried it on hot a couple times before I had it cut down to fit me, that way it had shrunk as much as it was going to.

I do not wash my obi.
I have a post about this on my blog: http://www.stevebjj.com/2009/07/01/washing-the-bjj-gi/

Bottom line, though, is the gi might shrink if you wash it hot. Not a problem, if it fits a little long, but I've seen a lot of dudes on the mats wearing jiu jitsu gis that look more like kyokushin karate gis.