Wanted: knife for self-defense

grace_ashley

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I am trying to find a good self-defense knife that suits my needs. On behalf of anyone else who might be in my position and stumble across the forum like I did, I thought I’d post and hopefully get some feedback even though I’m not a regular poster.

First, let me say that I’m learning knife-fighting basics and self defense skills right now. There is no way I’d be foolish enough to carry a real weapon I don’t know how to use. Once I got mugged when I had Mace on me, and I hadn’t bothered to see how the sprayer operated! I am never putting myself in this situation again! Luckily I was in Africa at the time and these men had never come across Mace before. But now that I’ve found an instructor, I feel confident enough to buy a knife and use it to defend myself.

I’m a 21-year-old female college student on a small campus in the southern United States. I need a knife that will fit in my pocket or clip to the waist of my pants. I don’t want it to be conspicuous (like, “Hey everyone, I’ve got a knife!”). It needs to not look vicious in case a judge/jury has to see it; also, it needs to be legal for a college campus! It needs to have a good handle grip so it won’t slip if my hands are wet or sweaty. It needs to be easy to open and have a strong lock, and the blade should be strong enough that it won’t break… not that I’ll be taking apart cargo ships or anything, but it would be nice to have confidence in a strong blade. It needs to come sharp and be easy for me to sharpen. The blade shouldn’t be too long, but it should be long enough to be effective. Also, my budget is around $30 to $40. I’d like to buy something online for a lack of time to go to stores, knife shows, etc.

I’d very much appreciate any input and/or advice here; I don’t know much about knives, and the options are a little overwhelming.

Thanks in advance,
grace

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score