Walk in challenges.

TallAdam85

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I have said this before and I am sure I will say this again I am new to owning a karate school. So my dojo is located next to a new pizzeria and most of the employees are males ages 17 to 20. I am 23 years old my self so I guess they see me as one of there peers. Anyways getting off topic. So they have made comments before like I want to see how good you are you and I on the mats Adam. I am like “you don’t go in to a doctors office and try to see if you can operate better then him. You don’t walk in to a kitchen and challenge the chief. I am running a martial arts school this is a business just like any other business. But then I always tell them if you really want to give me a shot why not fill out this hold harmless agreement and well go from there by then most of the time they back down. I am very good at using words to defuse the fire but I Was just wondering if stuff like this has happen to anyone on martial talk if so what did you do. I know that It has happened to a few of my friends dojos and they said fine lets go then my friends just made them tap or knocked them out.

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I have heard people doing "walk in challenges" in the BJJ studios.

I have seen people question the effectiveness of Aikido and get their butt handed to them on the mat.

I know some guys that took Kenpo (EPAK) because they also got their butts handed to them.

Guro Dan Inosanto told a story about one of his relative. He could listen to a piano and repeat the notes back. But he can't teach piano because he never had any formal training. When Guro Dan's father would introduce his son to other kali instructors he did not look for the most deadly guy, but the person who could transfer the knowledge.