Wado-Ryu vs Shotokan vs TKD

SPX

Black Belt
Reaction score
I am looking to get back into martial arts after a multi-year layoff and need a bit of info.

First off, my background is in TKD and Judo (as well as a tiny bit of Wushu). I am, of course, familiar with other martial arts, but only nominally and only as a spectator.

I'm considering getting back into TKD, but I've been having a hard time finding a good school in the area (Salt Lake City, UT). I've also considered Shotokan, but have been having a hard time finding a good Shotokan school as well.

There is, however, a Wado-Ryu school that I have been looking into and will probably go check out within the next week or so. The problem is that I have very little knowledge of Wado-Ryu. I've read a few threads I've found through the search and have done a bit of looking around online, but I figured I would get some tailored opinions from you guys.

Basically, how does both Shotokan AND Wado compare to TKD? And how do Shotokan and Wado compare to each other? What are the benefits of each? And which style, in your opinion, make for a better combative art?

Thanks in advance for the thoughts.

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Having trained in both Shotokan and Wado, I may be able to offer a bit of insight here.

Shotokan Karate and Wado Ryu are related systems, in that Wado Ryu was derived from Shotokan Karate, by Hironori Ohtsuka.

Ohtsuka Shihan already had an extensive background in Shinto Yoshin Ryu Ju Jutsu, and formed the Wado Ryu system from his knowledge of both the Ju Jutsu and the Shotokan Karate.

In a nutshell, Wado Ryu incorporates more "soft" techniques than Shotokan does, and also tends to use more upright stances, as opposed to the deeper stances favored by Shotokan.