Venomstrike here

V

Venomstrike

Hey everyone, I just got into the world of martial arts and I am very excited. I am a student in the martial art of Kenpo, but the school is also going to teach me some Jujitzu, Kickboxing / Thai Boxing, Japanese Shootfighting, and Aikido Weapon Defenses.

If you have any tips for a grasshopper like me please feel free to post them.

:asian:

OP
O

Oak Bo

Hi Venom, welcome aboard! :cheers:

OP
V

Venomstrike

Thanks for the welcomes / tips!

I've been going over the basics at home every single day since my first class. I now also stretch regularly and have weight training sessions a few times a week.

I am still confused as to when I would use the Fighting Horse stance as opposed to other fighting stances. Is it true that the Fighting Horse stance is only for training purposes?

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Venomstrike,
Welcome to Martial Talk. I would focus on controling the distance while sparring because,"He who controls the distance, controls the fight.". I would also have you make a mental note to always bend your knees, and keep your posture. Other than that I would suggest you pat your self on the back for your wise choice of recreation.
Sean Wold :ultracool

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome, Venomstrike. Sounds like you have a good combination of integrated martial training started there.

I agree with the QOP - hammer the basics. When you think you've perfected something - you haven't. Go back and do it again.

Remember that a really good student can learn something from anybody.

Have a great time here on MT!

Randy Strausbaugh

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Good to have you aboard, Venomstrike. Always good to see another Kenpo practitioner here on MT.