Value of seminars

Pervaz

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Just wanted to get the general impression of people : When attending do you try to attend the seminar for "explanation/demonstration" or "do the work" ??

P

R

RobP

Well for me at Mikhail's in London the other weekend it was mostly about being a camera man:D

Still, I got 9 hours of great footage which hopefully will be put to good use.

It's a good question. I've seen this from three sides - as someone who attends, as someone who organises and as someone who teaches. Each has it's own pressures and rewards.

Attending - depends largely on who, when and why. Being selfish, I'd love a small gorup seminar with Mikhail or Vlaidmir and be able to concentrate in-depth on one or two topics.

But - as an organiser, that doesn't help cover all the costs. Plus you get a lot of people wanting the chance to train and it's difficutl to turn keen people away.

As a teacher I generally ask in advance what people want to do. It's easier for me to run a specific session I find - though of course, with the Systema there is always an element of winging it.

Depends where I am teaching too - the "old hands" or a Karate group who have never seen Systema before.

Organising a seminar for others is a bit like having a party in your house. Your job is to make sure everyone is OK, so you rarely get as much of a chance to join in the fun.

I think with the big seminars there is also an element of people wanting a little entertainment - which is understandable, but shouldn't intrude too much.

The work / talk ratio is a difficult one and depends again on who and why. I found Mikhail's explanations of blood pressure, etc, etc very interesting - but they won't make particulalry good video footage for example.

An interesting question, I look forward to reading other viewpoints.

Arthur

Blue Belt
Reaction score