US Army Officer Allowed to Wear Sikh Turban and Beard

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
http://www.military.com/news/article/sikh-graduates-army-officer-school.html?ESRC=topstories.RSS

Sikh Graduates From Army Officer School
March 23, 2010
Associated Press

SAN ANTONIO - The Soldiers in standard-issue fatigues and combat boots stood side-by-side repeating their creed: "I am an American Soldier. I am a warrior and a member of a team. I serve the people of the United States and live the Army values ...."

Capt. Tejdeep Singh Rattan was no different except that he wore a full beard and black turban, the first Sikh in a generation allowed to complete U.S. Army basic officer training without sacrificing the articles of his faith. He completed the nine-week training Monday after Army officials made an exemption to a policy that has effectively prevented Sikhs from enlisting since 1984.

"I'm feeling very humbled. I'm a Soldier," said the 31-year-old dentist, smiling after the ceremony at Fort Sam Houston. "This has been my dream."

Interesting. The US Army's policy regarding religious articles worn in place of uniform items (such as the head covering) has previously been rather firm; it was not permitted. When I first joined the Marine Corps, the US Navy was permitted to wear beards, but it was banned again in the 1980's before I got out. I understand that the armed services of other countries have permitted beards and turbans, but not the USA to the best of my knowledge.

Gordon Nore

Senior Master
Reaction score
I don't know what the policy is here for military; although, I suspect they permit turbans and beards. There was a watershed case involving the RCMP about twenty years ago. If I recall correctly, PM Brian Mulroney changed the policy, paving the way for Sikh constables to wear their beards and turbans.

rcmp_baltej.jpg
Sergeant Baltej Dhillon