Trying to find the name of a Cerio form

X

xangelusx

I studied under a Nick Cerio school almost a decade ago and learned a form there that was called "Lin Wan Kuen". I've since restarted my training, this time in a Villari's studio, and would like to bring this form back into my training. However, I've forgotten all but the very beginning of it. Unfortunatly, my searches for it on the internet have turned up fruitless, especially since Lin Wan Kuen is so widely used within the martial arts world. My sensei mentioned that it might be a form of okinawan rohai, specifically Statute of the Crane, but I've never seen this form performed before so I'm not entirely sure. I'll try to describe as much of it as I can below. My appologies for not knowing the official names of some of these stances.

Starting in front position

Step forward with right leg while right hand goes out to elbow position, left hand still grasping right hand and now crossed in front of body

Push both hands in front of you with open left hand against a closed right hand

Step back with right leg, while rolling hands back into front position

Side step into a deep horse stance

pivot on left foot to a low side horse stance while doing a (villaris) #7 block

some form of strike here with the right hand

pivot on right foot to a low side horse stance while doing a (villaris) #8 block

some form of strike here with the left hand

... it gets pretty fuzzy from here. I know at some point there is a jump spinning inside crescent kick into a double floor punch.

Ugg, that's pretty vague, I know, but if anyone notices any similarities to some form that you may know, could you drop me a line?

Thanks!!!

The Kai

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Not to sound like a smart guy but type Lin Wan Kuen into the Martial talk search box. Prof Joe has given some background on the form

Todd

OP
X

xangelusx