Training differences: EPAK & Tracy Schools

jstronghawk

White Belt
Reaction score
I am new to the Kenpo world and this forum, but not Martial Arts. I trained in a Southern Chinese system for about 4 years before my instructor moved to Arizona. So, I went searching for a new art and found my way to Kenpo.

I enrolled at a Tracy school and achieved an orange belt.

I am now trying an EPAK school and, I must say, the teaching between the two systems is vastly different.

I have done a lot of research and everyone posts about just how similar the systems are. While I understand the techniques are the same/similar, how it is taught is different enough for me to post an inquiry here.

At the Tracy school, my private class consisted of learning the techniques (40 for orange belt), and then boxing drills. The group classes are kickboxing/conditioning classes, no review of techniques, no timing/sensitivity drills, etc. I really felt something was missing, which is why I have enrolled into an EPAK school.

At the EPAK School, they focus a lot on the techniques and have different drills which re-enforce techniques, etc. I am absolutely enjoying the technical aspects and feel at home.

Are these training differences normal between Tracy and EPAK?

Thank you for reading!

Jerry

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi Jerry,