Training after a Broken Ankle

Discussion in 'Women of the Martial Arts (Women Martial Artists)' started by mudogirl44, Apr 28, 2017.

1. mudogirl44

mudogirl44 White Belt

I've been practicing Taekwondo for about 6 months when I broke my ankle in Feburary. I recently got my boot off and I am anxious to get back to training but I am concerned about re-injury. Any good tips for getting back in?

2. kempodisciple

kempodisciple Senior Master

Disclaimer: I am not a personal trainer, physical therapist or athletic trainer. My knowledge in this subject is based on personal experience, casual research and about 3 athletic training courses in college. Be on the safe side with everything, and talk to a professional. Take the professional's advice above any responses you see here, since they are a: qualified and b: can actually examine your ankle/you.

Check with your PT to see if he/she feels like you're ready. Follow what they say. If you're not going to PT, go to PT.

I would personally wrap my foot before going. If you don't know how, check with the above mentioned PT.

Take it slow, and do a slow warm up before you start. When warming up be light on your feet (not meaning fast-don't put too much pressure), and pay extra attention to them. Also with kicking start lightly and gradually kick harder. If you start noticing pain, stop.

If you notice any pain, use either Ice or heat afterwards (if you feel that it's bothering you). If it's feeling tight/stiff, use heat. If there's inflammation/swelling, use ice. If there's a different pain, directly ask whomever you're getting PT from (notice a pattern here?), how you can handle that pain after a workout/TKD. Actually, even if it is tight/stiff or there's inflammation/swelling, bring it to the attention of your PT.

Most importantly, TAKE IT SLOW. You don't want to injure yourself more and end up with a permanent/chronic injury just because you wanted to go back to TKD 2 weeks earlier than you should have.

• Like Like x 1