Training accuracy and speed

Chrisicus

White Belt
Reaction score
I recently took kickboxing up in January, I have 6 years experience of judo (which I started again in January too) so been differentiating between the two and didn't realise how different they were, where you hold your hands is entirely different so for kickboxing I tend to have my hands too low by mistake!

I've mostly been doing sparring and pad work, been sparring with all the best guys (who do mma and bjj aswell etc) in the club so I can learn more (mostly get punched and kicked around but I learn a lot) What I've been told/noticed is that as I'm a big guy (6'1, skinny but got muscle,) I have a serious amount of power which is useful, but I can't use it efficiently as I'm not fast enough to deliver blows and I tend to be inaccurate ie on pads I don't hit the middle five times out of ten. So I just get punished when I throw a move as I open up, I'll miss and get barraged with hits as my guard will be down. I was wondering if you guys had any advice on how I could improve my accuracy and my speed.

I appreciate that my inexperience is a major point but its nice to learn a bit quicker! I have a boxing bag and speedbag at home (I'm at uni atm) so I can practice when I come home for Easter.

martial sparrer

Orange Belt
Reaction score
what I have learned from my own research, because I too wanted speed but also power.....I read on some body building sites that doing a lot of pushups, chin-ups, pull ups will give you lots of muscle, power, but also speed, because you are working out for fast-twiych muscle fibres.....also I think lots of practice using speed in your punch to chin, jaw, and temple will help maybe. sounds like your doing what I want to do this spring....get beat up against good opponents and learn some technique. rocco.

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score