to switch schools or not??? (again)

cfr

Black Belt
Reaction score
Im going to try to make this long winded story as short as possible. But if I dont give all this info you may not get a feel for my dilema and not understand why Im so torn on this whole deal.

The reasons I train are for SD and for fun. Thats it. To uphold ancient tradition, get more self discipline, understand the deeper meaning of life, etc., are neat if thats your thing, but its not mine.

My training history:

I started training about 2 1/2 years ago in a garage. A combination of BJJ, Judo, Kickboxing, and JJJ. I was with him for 6 months but then he moved away. I would have been with hime forever as we trained well together and I really dug it.

From there I went to a Hapkido school. 6 months later I came to realize that the school I was at was pretty unrealistic. A McDojo if you will.

So from there I went to a Kenpo school for 3 months. My take on katas is you are one side of the fence or the other. If you beleive in them, nobody can convince you that you are wasting your time. If you dont beleive in them, nobody can make you see how valuable they are. They are not for me. (I really dont want to start the Kata war here so please just accept that they are not for me, and I am happy for you if you beleive deeply in them.)

So then I went to where Im at now. Ive been there for 11 months of my year long contract. We do a combination of Muay Thai, JKD, and FMA. I dig it alot. It seems pretty realistic. We never puch the air, always focus mitts or pads. No katas. My instuctor grew up in the Phillipines and has been in lots of fights. And he's trained with some pretty well credentialed people. The one small thing I hate about it is the sparring situation. 2 - 2 1/2 years to start sparring. Lots of drills until then. Even un-timed drills to learn from. But no totally unscripted sparring for me for another 1 - 1 1/2 years.