Thinking of retiring

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Too bad I'm not in your neck of the woods. I'd love to study Tai Chi with a focus on the martial application.

Then again, I don't know that I have time to take on a new martial art at the moment. I started studying Wing Tsun back in January and I started learning Capoeira two weeks ago. If I added anything else I wouldn't have time for my jiu-jitsu. Since I'm not going to give up on BJJ any time soon, I'm probably at my limit for the time being.

I hope you can find some form of training locally that you enjoy, can find training partners for, and doesn't aggravate your arthritis too much.

BooBoo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Edit: When I wrote the post below, I thought you were going to 'retire' from posting on this blog, then I read your linked post. I'm sorry about what you're going through, but I think it would be a shame if you retired from teaching, just because of your amazing knowledge and experience. I'm sure there are people out there that would be interested in learning Taiji as it's meant to be trained, it's just a matter of finding them, or them finding you. I think if I ever reach your level of expertise and knowledge at some future date, I hope I have the ability to pass on what I've learned from my sifu to others in order to help do my part in preserving these arts. You're right that it's hard to find students who have the patience and long-term outlook to learn Taiji as it's meant to be learnt.

In any case, my original post is below, thought you'd be interested in reading it:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You mean you're not going to post anymore :bawling::bawling::bawling:?