Things Are Progressing

DocWard

Purple Belt
Reaction score
My instructor handed me a slip of paper on my way out. It says I'm responsible for developing my own kata, based upon the principles of Kenpo, and to write a thesis, either on the history of Karate or Kenpo, or on my own personal journey and what Kenpo has come to mean to me. The writing is not a stress. I write for a living. Developing my own kata has me somewhat nervous. Yes, I am excited, though! I already have some ideas for the kata. I seem to be getting closer.

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I so love that. It's kind of fun, too. Although I never did Kata, I constructed some for individual students for Kata competitions.

Go gettum', Doc.

OP
DocWard

DocWard

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Thank
I so love that. It's kind of fun, too. Although I never did Kata, I constructed some for individual students for Kata competitions.

Go gettum', Doc.

Thanks!

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
I did a thesis on the adaptive nature of kenpo and how you can tailor it to yourself, never did my own form....just never saw the point tbh. I always believed there was more important stuff I could be practicing than doing that but that's just my opinion

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
What principles do you intend to focus on in your kata? How do you envision your kata fulfilling a training need?

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My instructor handed me a slip of paper on my way out. It says I'm responsible for developing my own kata, based upon the principles of Kenpo, and to write a thesis, either on the history of Karate or Kenpo, or on my own personal journey and what Kenpo has come to mean to me. The writing is not a stress. I write for a living. Developing my own kata has me somewhat nervous. Yes, I am excited, though! I already have some ideas for the kata. I seem to be getting closer.