Theory Vs Practice...

charyuop

Black Belt
Reaction score
I have noticed that when Sensei shows a technique I can print it inside my brain pretty well. I can see it frame by frame in my head with no problem. When I do it at home as kata it comes out pretty smooth.
But...whenever I tried on the mat and I have actually someone in front of me attacking me I feel like a retarted. I lose consciousness of the feet potitions and what arm I am supposed to use...
Is it something common? By the way I have been doing Aikido for a couple of months now so yes I am still beginner.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have noticed that when Sensei shows a technique I can print it inside my brain pretty well. I can see it frame by frame in my head with no problem. When I do it at home as kata it comes out pretty smooth.
But...whenever I tried on the mat and I have actually someone in front of me attacking me I feel like a retarted. I lose consciousness of the feet potitions and what arm I am supposed to use...
Is it something common? By the way I have been doing Aikido for a couple of months now so yes I am still beginner.

Things will always be easy when they're done in the air. Its natural to feel awkward when doing something with a body in front of you, but this is what we train for...to be able to apply moves on someone. Things tend to be more awkward when the other person is not familiar with the move you're doing. It forces you to really have to work the technique.

Don't let this get to you. Keep training hard and with time, things will flow with ease! :)

Mike

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
My guess is that your self-assessment is, perhaps, a bit exaggerated. It is very complicated to see what a person is doing with their body in one or two viewings (or three or four or five or six).