The only woman in my class

Discussion in 'Women of the Martial Arts (Women Martial Artists)' started by Shadow5, Apr 24, 2018.

1. Shadow5

Shadow5 White Belt

Hello everyone,

I've been doing historical fencing for almost two years. Most of the time, I am the only woman in my class and I am starting to think that this might be a problem. I have the feeling to be always treated differently. Some teachers assume I will take more time to learn certain techniques, most of the students are competitive and are in my view slightly dangerous during sparring, especially when they notice i am actually not that bad. Their way to win is to start using brute force. Most of them will actually be offended when I point out that they should be careful with their hits when they're not stricking protected parts of my body (at my level, we only wear gloves and a helmet and teachers mention that you should have control of your sword at all time, bones were already broken during class). On top of that, I can't seem to find protective gear that is right for my size. Even when I go for small sizes, everything is too big and gear for woman is rare.

I am not sure what is the main issue. I am not doing this sport to try to become the best or anything like that. I like to learn different techniques and I enjoy sparring when it is about using sophisticated techniques and using my brain (and I dislike challenges of strengh). I feel like that the students that are there for the art, and not the competition are scarce and I feel a tad lonely.

Have any women (or men!) out there felt like me when practicing a martial art? How have you solved the issue? Changed school/sport, found 1-2 sparring partners who come to class for similar reasons as you and stick to them?

Sometimes I wonder if martial art is really the right type of sport for me. I like to fight, but I don't like to risk of injuries...and the special treatment.

2. drop bear

drop bear Sr. Grandmaster