The Good Old JKD or WC

D

Dylan9d

So I'm looking to expand my horizons a bit.

I'm looking at JKD (Ted Wong) and WC (WSL lineage), I have about 9 yrs of experience in Indonesian martial arts.

I'm a total noob when it comes to Chinese martial arts. Wich one would you go forr and why?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've studied them both--JKD more than WC--and like them both. I find that WC is a compact, classical, close-in approach, and that JKD is a broader, more modern art, all-ranges system. I prefer WC to study because I'm a TMAer at heart and it's a fascinating, well-thought-out, highly integrated martial art, but I prefer JKD for self-defense effectiveness--it simply addresses more ranges, gives you more options, and includes practical weapons training. While WC can be very effective, JKD is the better bet for an actual, unpredictable encounter.

That having been said--there are instructors who train either of these arts very well or very poorly, and who add what they feel is needed to round out what they're doing. If at all possible--try both! The instructor makes more difference than anything I've said here.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Interesting Choice, Ted Wong Student of Bruce Lee....Wong Shun Leung main teacher of Bruce Lee

Hard to say which I would go for, I would have to try both and go from there

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Are you in Southern Calif? If so, check out Gary Lam Wing Chun. WSL was Gary's personal instructor.
For JKD, I like Paul Vunak's style of fighting, but not sure if he is still actively teaching since his "organizational issues".

Last edited:
OP
D

Dylan9d

Hi thanks for the messages so far.

Im in Holland, the WC teacher studied with Philipp Bayer in Germany. Below a little clip with an interview with the teacher (the interview is in Dutch with english subtitles)
[video=youtube_share;ODmA3MsS9kU]http://youtu.be/ODmA3MsS9kU[/video]