"The Empty Cup"...Has anyone read this new book?

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Jeff Webb, a friend under whom I've been training for a good many years just recently finished a book titled The Empty Cup on "the proper attitude" for a student coming to study traditional martial arts. It's a short, nicely presented meditation on what the author believes is the correct attitude for learning martial arts, and a pretty quick read and available on Amazon for about 20 bucks or so.

I would be interested is anyone else's opinion on this little volume, as I found it thought provoking, sometimes inspiring, and frankly sometimes ...annoying? But then I've never had "the proper attitude" about much of anything! And, being something of a "free thinker" as well as more than a bit "undisciplined", you might predict such a response from me. :p

Still, I'd recommend the book, and really like to get some opinions from others. If anyone has or can get a copy, please let me know what you think! :)

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I have not read it yet. But empty cup means 2 things:

1. You have open mind.
2. You don't have faith.

You can argue from both sides and there won't be right and wrong.

When wind blow, the grass grow in the wall will swing according to the wind direction. That's how a politician behaves.

The empty cup means that I agree with you today but I reserve my right not to if I can find any reason later on.

OP
G

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
BTW here's the book:

upload_2018-10-15_12-28-37.jpeg

OP
G

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I have not read it yet. But empty cup means 2 things:

1. You have open mind.
2. You don't have faith.

You can argue from both sides and there won't be right and wrong.

The phrase "empty cup" as used in this book is with the first meaning above: to have an open mind.