Testing Criteria

Shotokan Seishin

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
For the instructors out there....how do you conduct you best tests?

I've become quite disgusted over the last number of years with the downhill slide of the Shotokan karate school I used to belong to. The organization seems to have spiraled from a decent club to not much more than a belt factory. I saw instances where the examiners would test 12 or more people at one time, assistant instructors would desperately be in the hallways trying to teach children their kata moves before their tests, and people who didn't even train would be able to advance through the ranks. It was pretty bad.

Now that I'm an instructor myself and am able to give belt tests I would like to hear how other instructors conduct their tests. I want to upgrade my program but have had little experience from outside the Shotokan grading system and want to explore ways to make belt tests better.

How long do your tests take?
How are they conducted?
Is there a fitness component?
How many people do you test at once?
Do you require/take attendance form classes?
How do you tell someone who wants to test that they are not ready.
How do you tell someone they have failed without causing too much discouragement?

Lots of questions, but I plan to do a much better job as a sensei than my previous instructors.

Thank you,
UC

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score

Depends. The lower the rank, the shorter the test. Going to 9th geup might take 10 minutes. 1st Dan might take a couple hours.

How are they conducted?

There are one or more judges, who watch the student perform the material they are expected to know, and score them on a 1-10 scale. A 6 or higher is required to promote.
The material includes forms, sparring, self defense, history, vocabulary, answering some questions that are on the back of the promotion form, and answering "on the spot" questions from the judge(s).