Testing at the end of December?

Aikikitty

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,

A couple of months ago, my sensei shocked me by proclaiming that he was going to test me by the end of the year. :xtrmshock :jaw-dropping:That mainly shocked me, because my sensei doesn't like giving tests and the last time anyone tested was at least 6 years ago. I don't even know WHAT rank I'll be testing for either. It'll either be for 1st kyu or 1st dan and I guess we won't know until the actual day.:idunno: The material for both tests are the same except 1st dan has weapon techniques and randori. So I'm guessing he'll call out everything and it depends if I'm able to do it well enough.

I've been learning Aikido for 8 years now and I don't care what I test for really. When I first started, I fantasized about having a black belt someday, but as the years went by I realized that 1) my sensei didn't test often and 2) I have a LOOOOOOOONG way to go and that probably the only way I'd ever get a "black" belt is to accidentally wash my belt in a dark load of laundry. :ultracool

If I had a choice (which I don't) of which rank I'll end up getting, I'm of two minds.

1st dan would be an awesome milestone (not the end of the journey by no means!) and a great honor if my sensei thought me ready for it. However, in a way, it's also a lot more pressure! I can't teach worth beans and for a long time now I've believed that it's better to be a whitebelt forever with the techniques of a blackbelt instead of a blackbelt with the techniques of a whitebelt. I know that having a blackbelt doesn't mean that I'm supposed to know everything and be able to do things perfectly, but I'm paranoid. I want to be a good representitive of my sensei. :yoda:

On the other hand, 1st kyu would be great too. It still would be a great accomplishment without the "pressure", but I'm not sure if I'd be let down for not doing well enough for 1st dan. I don't know! I shouldn't even be worrying about it.