Tao of JKD

G

Gary Crawford

The Tao is an incredibly interesting book.When I first read it,I found many fascinating things in it,but as far as Jeet Kune Do was concerned,I found it extremely vague.After training for a couple years,I picked it up again and actually pick up a few things I hadn't noticed before.I kept on training,and after a couple more years,I read it again.This time I actually understood most of it(except for most of the eastern philosephy parts).I know finally understand the basic truth about the book.It's just a collection of Bruce Lee's notes that his students put together and published after his death and nothing more.It was never meant to be a "how to" book of Jeet Kune Do for beginer or interneadiate students,but it works out to be a nice reference for those of us who continue to train and search for more understanding.Of course,this not the only book.I used to be a OJKD student,but learning only that is definatly not what Bruce Lee wanted.The best JKD systems have still yet to be developed.For those of us who are "seasonded" martial artists",sometimes one wonders how much more those of us with two arms,two legs,and one head can learn about using them there possibly can be left to learn.Then I realize how long martial arts have been in existance and how things have progressed and how many styles now exist in the world now.It's Awe inspireing.THEN I get it!That's what Bruce Lee was trying to do and said so.Taking what works from everyone and trimming away what is useless.Bruce only scratched the surface of a few styles,the rest of the work is left to the rest of us.

OP
A

Aikia

Gary,