Tang Soo Do / Muay Thai combo ?

S

ShiN

Hello everyone,
I've just arrived here and I'm a total newbe! :eek:

Maybe I can ask you a question ::

I practice TSD for 6 years now, and have recently started training MT, but someone told me that combining an art like TSD with MT is going to negatively affect my TSD-skills.

What I wanted to ask you guys, does anyone here have experience with Tang Soo Do in combination with Muay Thai? :confused:

Or does anyone here knows something about negative effects of cross-training in MT?

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I think that depends on how well you can keep both styles separate. For example, a MT roundhouse is very different from a TSD roundhouse. Can you keep yourself from mixing the two up?

Usually, my advice for people wishing to crosstrain is to first spend an appreciable amount of time in one system before trying another. Basically, get a black belt (or equivalent) in one system first.

Here are my reasons for suggesting this:
  1. Ensure you have a good understanding of basic body mechanics
  2. Prevent you from doing poorly by ensuring you won't mix material up from two (or more) systems.
  3. Give you a better appreciation for the differences of your first system and the new one.
    [/list=1]

Some people may be able to efficiently start as a beginner in two or more systems at the same time and not have their training suffer. I'm not one of those people, so I have to advise using my own personal observations and experiences.

Cthulhu

OP
S

ShiN

Thanks for your reaction,

You gave a very good advice, I'll need to discover if I can keep myself from mixing.

I have a black belt in Tang Soo Do (1st degree) so I really hope this is going to work out, because I instantly fell in love with Muay Thai.

tnx again!
:asian:

OP
T

thaiboxer