Taking Inventory

glad2bhere

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Once upon a time, in my murky past I was a store manager and as most managers know that mean periodic inventories. Some part of that practice is a way of keeping an eye on losses while another part has to do with spotting trends in how merchandise moves. Usually tracking ones curriculum and reviewing its content is a matter for teachers, but that doesn’t absolve the student from doing the same thing for themselves. Consider the concussive techniques in your catalog.

These striking and kicking techniques can be done with either side and perhaps the forward (lead) or rear (trailing) hand. The first question is, how many do you know and this is where the ego pops in and gets in the way. Lets ask, instead how many do you actually train with in your weekly classes. How many do you use in your one-steps and three-steps. How many do you use as pre-emptive strikes preparatory to executing a grappling technique?

How about the grappling techniques? Are you studying the material specific to your rank? “Well, of course”, you say. “How else am I going to pass my next test?” What about the material from the ranks previous? You know. The stuff you “already know”?
Do you know it off-the-grab as well as off-the-strike? Do you practice both left hand and right hand? With people both larger and smaller than yourself? Against multiple attackers both free style and in succession?