Tai Chi styles

T

Tachi

Just curious...

What styles of Tai Chi do we have represented on the board? If you'd like to add, how long have you studied and what got you interested?

Tachi:asian:

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I studied the national (exercise-oriented) form, as it was all we had in town--and now we have no Tai Chi at all!

OP
D

disciple

I practice Yang style short(24) and long(108) forms. I have yet to learn fan, jian, and dao forms from my new master.
Been doing it for 3 years.
I got interested mostly because of the tai chi master movies and stories :)

salute

:asian:

OP
H

happyguy

I study the sun style Taiji.I suppose it was all the stories of taiji fighting ability that sparked my initial interest.

OP
T

Tachi

I've been studying Chen style for several years now, and got into it for the hidden martial aspects. I wanted an art different from the standard 'knock down, kick'em' style I had seen.

Now I find many people who study Yang, but not many who work with Chen. A bit frustrating when I want to increase my skills :(

It's nice to see we have a great variety of styles represented on the board.

Tachi

OP
T

theneuhauser

hey tachi

i study chen also
never learned cannon fist though, hoping to learn soon from my new instructor

i also practice yang

i love all of it-taiji got me back into martial arts after 6 years without study- then i met an old guy named han in southern illinois- he tought me yang and wu and hes the only person ive met that teaches scattering hands(2 man fighting set) he was a cool cat.

OP
T

Tachi

I'm saiting for Cannon Fist as well - we have a "primer" version we teach to the colored sash ranks to get people to relax and learn how to move the dantien bette, then we play with the first form. I really enjoy that one, but I am anxious to get moving with the Cannon Fist - ahh, the Western Mind;)